Monday, October 12, 2009

Nobel Prize Trivia

By now you have probably heard that President Barack Obama received the 2009 Nobel Peace Prize, “for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples.”

Did you know that, in addition to President Obama, three other U.S. presidents have won this prestigious award?

President Theodore Roosevelt won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1906 for his efforts in mediating the peace between Russia and Japan. Roosevelt is the only Republican president to have received this honor.

President Woodrow Wilson won the award in 1919 for his work with the League of Nations, a precursor to the United Nations.

President Jimmy Carter received the Nobel Peace Prize in 2002, for his diplomatic work during and after his presidency.

Other interesting facts about the U.S. presidents, the Nobel Prize, and a variety of other subjects can be found in The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2009, R 317.3 W927 2009, which is located here in the Sullivan University Library and Learning Resource Center. The Nobel Prize also has an informative website where you can find out more about the history of the award and past recipients.

No comments: